#1 Tassadar

Tassadar

• PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • no affiliation
  • Agnostic
  • California

Posted 27 August 2016 - 04:15 PM

Hi guys, I’m new to the forum. Had a lot of time to kill while proctoring an exam so wondered around the internet until I found this little gem. Spent quite a bit of time digging around. I must admit some of the things I read really surprised me. A bit about me: I recently finished training in the medical field and am currently a practicing physician. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Biology (largely focused on evolutionary biology and ecology) prior to pursuing medicine so I found this site pretty interesting.

I'm curious, why is it that evolution is singled out? Evolution has a scientific basis just as medicine, physics, astronomy, etc. does. So why not argue with your doctor the next time he gives you antibiotics for pneumonia? You don’t argue because your doctor has gone through years of training in the field. You wouldn’t go to a forum and trust some people that “read a lot on the internet” to say hey I don’t think these antibiotics actually work…you should just not take it. If you did that you’d probably get pretty sick. Just the same way it really doesn’t make sense to argue evolutionary biology unless you are actually studying the field. You can’t just read a bunch of blog/forum posts and suddenly think you know more than the people that have trained in the field…and there is overwhelming consensus in those that have in favor of evolution. Similarly why not ask the pilot the next time you fly how avionics work? After all why should you trust that science? Or ask a geotechnical engineer to explain why your house is stable. Why are you taking them at their word but refuse to believe evolutionary biologists?