Photo

Is Charles Darwin The Most Overrated Figure In History?

• Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#1 Dredge

Dredge

• Advanced member
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Christian
  • Old Earth Creationist
  • Brisbane, Australia

Posted 04 May 2017 - 03:51 AM

We've all heard that "evolution is the unifying concept of biology" and Dobzhansky's claim that "Nothing in biology makes sense except in the light of evolution."  But I beg to differ, because as far as I can tell, Darwin's theory of evolution is the scientific equivalent of a blank bullet - there's lots of noise and smoke, but it doesn't actually do anything useful.  

Parts of ToE are definitely useful - natural selection, for example - but for thousands of years before Darwin, animal and plant breeders had been well aware that variations in organisms can be exploited by natural/artificial selection to produce heritable changes in a population.  

I'm no expert, but I can't think of a single use of applied science that depends on the theory that all life on earth evolved from a common ancestor.  It seems to me that the theory of common decent is, as best, nothing more than an historical curiosity.  I mean, of what use is it to science to belief that whales evolved from a deer that lived 50 million years?  

Did Charles Darwin contribute anything at all that actually advanced science?  If science had never heard of Darwin and his theory, would science be any the poorer?  I suspect not.  Take ToE out of the science of biology and you are left with biology, 100% intact and ready to go.

It appears to me that Darwinsim is a scientific White Elephant, but it has been adopted as a core dogma of atheist theology. Hence my definition of evolution ... Evolution = Biology + the athiestic cult of Darwinism.

So I would like to nominate Charles Robert Darwin as the most overrated figure in history.

#2 Mike Summers

Mike Summers

Veteran Member

• Veteran Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,445 posts