• This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 Fred Williams

Fred Williams

Administrator / Forum Owner

• Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2275 posts
  • Interests:I enjoy going to Broncos games, my son's HS basketball & baseball games, and my daughter's piano & dance recitals. I enjoy playing basketball (when able). I occasionally play keyboards for my church's praise team. I am a Senior Staff Firmware Engineer at Micron, and am co-host of Real Science Radio.
  • Christian
  • Young Earth Creationist
  • Broomfield, Colorado

Posted 28 March 2007 - 06:26 AM

We discussed this on our latest 'Real Science Friday' radio show (archived here).

The Crab Nebula is a remnant of a star that is beleived to have exploded in ~1054. It is a SuperNova remnant, or SNR. OVer time SNRs expand in size. The problem for Old agers is that we do not see any "old" SNRs! SNRs should reach a diameter of about 300 light years after 120,000 years, so we should be able to see many this size if the universe is billions of years old. We don't see any this size.

‘Why have the large number of expected remnants not been detected?’ - Clark and Caswell, 1976. Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, 174:267

“Another surprise is how rare Crab Nebula type SNRs are” - Dr Malcolm Longair, Royal Observatory, U.K.

BTW, on our April 6th show we plan on answering emails and taking calls. If you have any questions you would like to submit for the radio show, or if you plan on calling in, please let me know. The show airs live in Denver at 3:pm on the 55,000-watt AM 670 KLTT.

Fred

#2 chance

chance

Veteran Member

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2029 posts
  • no affiliation
  • Atheist
  • Australia

Posted 28 March 2007 - 02:41 PM

We discussed this on our latest 'Real Science Friday' radio show (archived here).

Cool an astronomy topic, right up my ally.