ikester7579

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12500 posts
  • Interests:God, creation, etc...
  • Christian
  • Young Earth Creationist
  • I'm non-denominational

Posted 17 May 2008 - 03:29 AM

Since gas prices are starting to scare people, me included. I thought I would start a series of threads based on teaching anyone about cars and MPG. And also scams. From being a teenager, I have had a special interest in cars. I took three years of diesel mechanics, but decided that was to dirty of a job (diesel fuel stinks). And I was more interested in performance cars.

I really became interested in things that most people, not even master mechanics, know. I self taught myself by reading books and experimenting. I even worked at a dealership for a while repairing the first breed of fuel injected computer controlled vehicles.

I even owned a car that was the first production fuel injected computer controlled car in the U.S. The Cosworth vega.

I studied ignition theory. Took 2 courses in oil lubrication, oil and air filtration. And from everything I learned, I found there are only a few ways that MPG can be increased.

1) Is by reducing friction.

Most motor oils are not very good at friction reduction at all levels of load. This is why cars get a whole lot better MPG on the highway than in town driving. Stop and go driving puts a huge load, and causes a lot of friction in an engine. Also, to get the car moving again after you stop uses a lot of energy.

The best thing I have found for increasing MPG on the friction issue is synthetic oil. But, what most people do not understand is that there are different grades of synthetics. Good and bad just like regular oil. And blends (synthetic and petroleum) are not always the way to go. And there is no guarantee on the percent of each that you get unless a certain language is used.