Lucifer = The Devil..why?

• Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Alcatraz_*

Guest_Alcatraz_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 November 2009 - 04:29 AM

Reading something on another post where a member equated Lucifer to the Devil, I had to stop and wonder why there is this misconception.

As many of you know, I'm a budding author who writes in the Supernatural genre, and as part of my on going research I've been studying both the canon and non-canon Judeo-Christian/Abrahamic texts.

Lucifer is a Latin word which translates as 'Light Bearer' and more loosly 'Morning Star' (Venus).

Nowhere in the NT is The Devil/Satan/The Advesary refered to as Lucifer.

Even in the OT references to Lucifer refer to Babylonian or foreign Kings (Isaiah 14:12 and Ezekiel 28:11-19).

Although the word Lucifer as translated from the Hebrew הילל (Hêlēl), the phrase is normally used in relation to the constelations, or someone who lights the way for their people (Kings etc..).

So my question for my Christian friends is, How is it that Lucifer was to become equted to The Devil when there in no canonicity for such usage in either the OT or NT?

#2 ikester7579

ikester7579

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12500 posts
  • Interests:God, creation, etc...
  • Christian
  • Young Earth Creationist
  • I'm non-denominational

Posted 05 November 2009 - 06:47 AM

Isaiah 14:

12 How art thou fallen from heaven, O Lucifer, son of the morning! how art thou cut down to the ground, which didst weaken the nations!

13 For thou hast said in thine heart, I will ascend into heaven, I will exalt my throne above the stars of God: I will sit also upon the mount of the congregation, in the sides of the north:

14 I will ascend above the heights of the clouds; I will be like the most High.

15 Yet thou shalt be brought down to hell, to the sides of the pit.

16 They that see thee shall narrowly look upon thee, and consider thee, saying, Is this the man that made the earth to tremble, that did shake kingdoms;