Mar 4 2011 - 100m Years To Change A Binding Site

2 replies to this topic

#1 Fred Williams

Fred Williams

Administrator / Forum Owner

• Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2397 posts
  • Interests:I enjoy going to Broncos games, my son's HS basketball & baseball games, and my daughter's piano & dance recitals. I enjoy playing basketball (when able). I occasionally play keyboards for my church's praise team. I am a Senior Staff Firmware Engineer at Micron, and am co-host of Real Science Radio.
  • Christian
  • Young Earth Creationist
  • Broomfield, Colorado

Posted 05 March 2011 - 12:00 PM

What's a Binding Site and How Long to Evolve a Change? Real Science Friday co-hosts Fred Williams and Bob Enyart describe a binding site, which is a place on a protein or in DNA where other molecules can attach, somewhat like the shuttle docking to the space station. And according to an article at the National Institutes of Health, it would take 100 million years by a Darwinian process to change a single binding site in the human genome. Oops. Supposedly ALL OF HUMAN EVOLUTION from small Australopithecus chimp-like creatures to Homo sapiens has happened in only five million years. Then how could it take 100 million years just to change a binding site? This is yet another nail in Charles Darwin's coffin beneath the Westminster Abbey.

http://kgov.com/bel/20110304

You can also play it within this forum here:

[NOTE: If you are using Google Chrome the above plug-in may automatically start and also not provide play/pause and volume control.]

#2 AFJ

AFJ

AFJ

• Veteran Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1625 posts
  • Interests:Bible, molecular biology, chemistry, mineralogy, geology, eschatology, history, family
  • Christian
  • Young Earth Creationist
  • Baton Rouge, LA

Posted 20 March 2011 - 06:17 AM