• Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 Fred Williams

Fred Williams

Administrator / Forum Owner

• Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2444 posts
  • Interests:I enjoy going to Broncos games, my son's HS basketball & baseball games, and my daughter's piano & dance recitals. I enjoy playing basketball (when able). I occasionally play keyboards for my church's praise team. I am a Senior Staff Firmware Engineer at Micron, and am co-host of Real Science Radio.
  • Christian
  • Young Earth Creationist
  • Broomfield, Colorado

Posted 27 May 2011 - 04:01 PM

This is the first in a series of rock-the-boat topics regarding what I submit are non-Biblical Christian cliches that have crept into the church over the years.

It has been said that Hillary Clinton's favorite verse is “Thou shalt not judge!" In my experience over the years, I especially hear this often from liberals, it seems to be one of the few verses they know. Unfortunately, many conservative Christians don't help matters, either because they are not very familiar with the Bible, or they are well-versed but have this so engrained from the years of hearing this teaching that they don't dispute it.

In a nut-shell I believe the Bible teaches to judge, but not like a hypocrite. Consider Hillary's favorite verse: “Judge not, that you be not judged." (Matt 7:1-5). Here's the remaining part of the verse they won't cite: “And why do you look at the speck in your brother's eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye? Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother's eye." This concept of judging, but not like a hypocrite, is not a new concept, for example: “If you will walk in My ways, and if you will keep My command, then you shall also judge My house" (Zech 3:7).