A Definition Question

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_The Beagle_*

Guest_The Beagle_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 July 2005 - 03:11 AM

Hi everyone. I'm new here, so pardon me if this has been discussed.

Could you please provide your definition of

1) Microevolution
2) Macroevolution
3) Speciation

along with which of these three (if any) has been proven in the lab or field. Also, if you could, please explain why you believe the others (or all of them) are impossible.

Thanks,
TB

#2 Fred Williams

Fred Williams

Administrator / Forum Owner

• Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2393 posts
  • Interests:I enjoy going to Broncos games, my son's HS basketball & baseball games, and my daughter's piano & dance recitals. I enjoy playing basketball (when able). I occasionally play keyboards for my church's praise team. I am a Senior Staff Firmware Engineer at Micron, and am co-host of Real Science Radio.
  • Christian
  • Young Earth Creationist
  • Broomfield, Colorado

Posted 21 July 2005 - 09:09 PM

Hi everyone. I'm new here, so pardon me if this has been discussed.

Could you please provide your definition of

1) Microevolution
2) Macroevolution
3) Speciation

along with which of these three (if any) has been proven in the lab or field. Also, if you could, please explain why you believe the others (or all of them) are impossible.

Thanks,
TB

View Post

Please see my article on The Evolution Definition Shell Game.

In the future, I plan on adding a "definition" FAQ since we often-times seem to start a discussion by first trying to agree on a definition. Another classic example is the battle over what information, or what a code is.