• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 MamaElephant

MamaElephant

former JW

• Veteran Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1564 posts
  • Interests:Bible, Home-schooling, Education, Fitness, Young Earth Science, Evolution, Natural Medicine, Board Games, Video Games, Study of cult mind control and Counseling for those coming out of cult mind control.
  • Christian
  • Young Earth Creationist
  • I am His! 1/29/12

Posted 24 July 2011 - 08:17 PM

The Baptist church I am studying at uses the KJV but I am finding it near impossible to understand. Would a NKJV help with this?

The Living Bible is my true love because it is so easy to read and understand and brought about my conversion. Does anyone know of any inaccuracies in this version? I would also want to have at least one version that would be considered different from this one, in order to check the accuracy, kwim?

Do you all agree with the post below that I copied from elsewhere?

If you want a word-for-word or wooden translation, then go with NASB or ESV. If you want a thought-for-thought, then go for NIV. If you want beauty of historical language, you can't beat KJV, but the language can be cumbersome. I agree with the poster who said that there is much to be gained from reading a Bible without any commentary. I used a NASB when I read through the Bible several years ago. However there is so much that is impossible to understand without an explanation such as the tabernacle structure, the system of sacrifices, etc., spelled out in Leviticus. I have an ESV Study Bible now and am using it to read through the Bible chronologically. I do appreciate the study notes. HTH!

I was told by a former JW that is now a Christian missionary that the NASB is the most accurate. It looks to me like the ESV is easy to understand... but perhaps I don't need that as much because I have the Living Bible? Any advice is very welcomed! Thank you.

#2 Ron

Ron

Advanced Member

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6530 posts
  • Christian