#1 futzman

futzman

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • no affiliation
  • Agnostic
  • Tulsa, OK

Posted 22 July 2005 - 12:57 PM

Greetings all. Richard here. I'm an agnostic and an evolutionist, but most of all I'm a truth seeker. I'm an amateur paleontologist and a professional software engineer who just happens to have quite a lot of formal education in the sciences, particularly chemistry and physics.

My primary interests relating to the evolution versus instant creation debate are the fossil record and the extinction and appearance of new species over time. I'm also very interested in taphonomy and paleoecology. I'm doing some independent research on the Pennsylvanian Period in Oklahoma, primarily because it's convenient and the fossils are fairly abundant in this area.

Richard

#2 Geezer

Geezer

• Advanced member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Judaism Orthodox
  • Theistic Evolutionist
  • 3rd Rock from the Sun

Posted 22 July 2005 - 02:32 PM

Shalom futzman!
Are you in the Davis Mts.?
I have done plenty of amateur stuff there - great place.

#3 futzman

futzman

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • no affiliation
  • Agnostic
  • Tulsa, OK

Posted 22 July 2005 - 02:44 PM

Shalom futzman!
Are you in the Davis Mts.?
I have done plenty of amateur stuff there - great place.

View Post

Greets, Geezer. No, I'm located in Tulsa, OK. The geology in a hundred mile radius from me is primarily from the Pennsylvanian Period. Lots of criniods, brachiopods and rugose corals. My specific interest right now is in the brachiopods and their evolution, extinction and taphonomy. I also have collected some modern members of mollusca and some that appear to be fossilizing sans sediment, although I haven't done any chemical analysis on them yet.

#4 Guest_Aristarchus_*

Guest_Aristarchus_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 July 2005 - 07:22 PM

hi Futzman