Newcomer

• Banned
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • no affiliation
  • Atheist
  • Sydney, Australia

Posted 05 July 2006 - 12:42 AM

Big Bang cosmology dates the origin of the universe to approx 14 bya. Does anyone seriously disagree? Does the Bible?

#2 Fred Williams

Fred Williams

Administrator / Forum Owner

• Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2444 posts
  • Interests:I enjoy going to Broncos games, my son's HS basketball & baseball games, and my daughter's piano & dance recitals. I enjoy playing basketball (when able). I occasionally play keyboards for my church's praise team. I am a Senior Staff Firmware Engineer at Micron, and am co-host of Real Science Radio.
  • Christian
  • Young Earth Creationist
  • Broomfield, Colorado

Posted 05 July 2006 - 03:45 PM

Big Bang cosmology dates the origin of the universe to approx 14 bya. Does anyone seriously disagree? Does the Bible?

View Post

1) You may be surprised to know that there is a growing number of secular scientists who acknowledge the vast, and in some cases fatal, contradictions to the Big Bang. For a list, see www.cosmologystatement.org, signed by some pretty prestigious secular scientists. They want to push an alternative atheistic model. Its interesting and ironic to hear their complaints about the dogma that prevents them from being heard. :)
2) Most YECs believe the earth and universe were created ~6K years ago. A fair number of YECs ascribe to Humphries White Hole cosmology, a cosmology that IMO is too close for comfort to an old universe position.
3) The Bible clearly contradicts a secular cosmology of billions of year old universe. The Bible genealogies only go back 6K years. In addition, the sun and stars were not created until the fourth day, *after* the earth was created, an obvious contradiction to the secular belief that the sun originated before the earth.