Jerome007

Newcomer

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Christian
  • Young Earth Creationist
  • Wisconsin

Posted 12 September 2006 - 10:35 PM

Hey everyone. Got a biology question for ya.

It is the I idea that identical Endogenous retrovirus (ERV) insertions across primates prove a common ancestor. I'm not a big biology buff so I wasn't able to find much on this other then a post on another forum. Thoughts?

http://www.christian...es.html&page=23

#2 Fred Williams

Fred Williams

Administrator / Forum Owner

• Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2479 posts
  • Interests:I enjoy going to Broncos games, my son's HS basketball & baseball games, and my daughter's piano & dance recitals. I enjoy playing basketball (when able). I occasionally play keyboards for my church's praise team. I am a Senior Staff Firmware Engineer at Micron, and am co-host of Real Science Radio.
  • Christian
  • Young Earth Creationist
  • Broomfield, Colorado

Posted 13 September 2006 - 02:30 PM

Hey everyone. Got a biology question for ya.

It is the I idea that identical Endogenous retrovirus (ERV) insertions across primates prove a common ancestor.  I'm not a big biology buff so I wasn't able to find much on this other then a post on another forum. Thoughts?

http://www.christian...es.html&page=23

View Post

Here's the illusion behind claims like this - they assume the ERVs are functionless. The fact we have found some ERVs to have a function alone refutes this as evidence of common ancestry. Others are highly conserved (can't suffer mutation), which is strong evidence they are important (functional). Just because we do not know what they do in all cases, does not mean they have no function and are some evolutionary leftover. More speculation borne of question begging from our fairytale lover friends. :)

More details can be found here.

Fred

#3 Phaedrus

Phaedrus

• Advanced member
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Christian
  • Creationist
  • Indianapolis

Posted 27 September 2006 - 01:01 AM