Evolution Fairytale Forum
Sign in to follow this  
thilipsis

Genesis 1 Exposition, A Modified Gap Theory

Hello everyone, my name is Mark Kennedy, I've been a regular on Christian Forums for years. I'm a Pastoral Ministry student majoring in Bible and Theology at the Nazarene Bible College in Colorado Springs. I am in most respects a Creationist except that all the Genesis account is telling us about the creation of the 'heavens and the earth' is that it was, 'in the beginning'. Don't get me wrong, I take Genesis 1 literally and the creation of life (Gen. 1:21) and Adam (Gen. 1:25) was about 6,000 years ago.

I'm not opposed to Young Earth Creationism, I just feel strongly that a sound exegesis of the text will not give you a definite creation at the same time as Creation week. The sun, moon and stars were created before Creation week started, perhaps immediately following the original creation in Genesis 1:1, perhaps billions of years previously.

I'm interested in an open discussion regarding an exposition of the text and perhaps some of the dating techniiques.

Grace and peace,

Mark

Hi Mark,

Nice to meet you. Why can't a real scientist study the Sun and give an appox. beginning? I agree that scripture does not necessarily give landmarks as to when God started things up. Time is irrelevant to God (1,000 years is as a day and a day is as a 1,000 years). To me the "days" of the creation in scripture should be understood as "stages".

Hello everyone, my name is Mark Kennedy, I've been a regular on Christian Forums for years. I'm a Pastoral Ministry student majoring in Bible and Theology at the Nazarene Bible College in Colorado Springs. I am in most respects a Creationist except that all the Genesis account is telling us about the creation of the 'heavens and the earth' is that it was, 'in the beginning'. Don't get me wrong, I take Genesis 1 literally and the creation of life (Gen. 1:21) and Adam (Gen. 1:25) was about 6,000 years ago.

Hello Mark,